Founded in 1962, Film Comment has been the home of independent film journalism for over 50 years, publishing in-depth interviews, critical analysis, and feature coverage of mainstream, art-house, and avant-garde filmmaking from around the world. Today a bimonthly print magazine and a website published by Film at Lincoln Center, Film Comment is a nonprofit publication that relies on the support of readers. Its activities supporting film culture also include The Film Comment Podcast and regular events and talks at Film at Lincoln Center and beyond. Past and present contributing writers include Ashley Clark, Manohla Dargis, Raymond Durgnat, Roger Ebert, Manny Farber, Scott Foundas, Molly Haskell, J. Hoberman, Eric Hynes, Kent Jones, Dave Kehr, Nathan Lee, Kathleen Murphy, Sheila O’Malley, Brooks Riley, Jonathan Rosenbaum, Andrew Sarris, Amy Taubin, David Thomson, Amos Vogel, Robin Wood, and many more.


Editor-in-Chief Nicolas Rapold

Digital Editor Clinton Krute
Production, Business & Logistics Vicki Robinson
Consulting Art Director Kevin Fisher
Assistant Editor Devika Girish
Copy Editor Steven Mears
Consultant Michael Koresky

Publisher Eugene Hernandez

Director of Marketing & Sales David Goldberg

Executive Director, Film at Lincoln Center Lesli Klainberg

Contributing Editors
J. Hoberman
Dave Kehr
Nellie Killian
Soraya Nadia McDonald
Jonathan Romney
Michael Sragow
Amy Taubin
Manu Yáñez Murillo

Editor Emeritus Gavin Smith

Letters to the Editor

Film Comment wants your letters! Either email us at or send your letters to:

Film Comment
70 Lincoln Center Plaza
New York, NY 10023

Please include a mailing address and a daytime phone number. Not all letters can be published or answered, and those that we print may be edited and/or excerpted.

Submission Policy

Film Comment does not accept unsolicited submissions in any form, and unfortunately is unable to return any manuscripts that are received. Additionally, we cannot guarantee a response to unsolicited queries.


Editorial Internship

Are you knowledgeable about film and a student or under/unemployed young person in the New York City area? You might be the right person for our editorial internship! Interns are expected to assist editors once a week in our Lincoln Center office with a variety of editorial tasks. Intrigued? Send writing samples and a résumé to Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

Customer Service and Missed Issues

If you are a subscriber and have missed issues (or would like to correct a problem with your subscription), please e-mail

For problems with single issue orders placed through our store, please use the follow-up e-mail attached to your order.

Reprint Requests

Please contact